Eat That Frog! part 2 (leaping into action)

Standard

“Eat a small toad in the morning, and it will be the worse thing you do all day.” Art Fettig

What better way to celebrate leap day than a story about eating frogs?

Plus, chomping down on our greens first thing makes it okay to eat lots of desserts. Okay, I just made up that part because I will work for sugar.

The original Eat That Frog! post explains the concept behind the book Eat That Frog!

In a nutshell, eating that frog means we begin our day by doing the one or two things we would typically procrastinate over.

The practice of frog-eating, no matter how unpleasant, is usually necessary to making our days as productive as can be. It is a positive change in attitude and action.

Author Brian Tracy says eating the frog early makes for a sweeter rest-of-the-day.

But how much sweeter still is justification?

I listened to a friend talk about procrastinating and finding all sorts of additional creative projects besides making wine lights, which she sells at art shows for her livelihood. I thought, “If my ‘frog’ was wine lights, I’d have no problem getting to work.”

Oh, really? “Woe is me” that my frog is writing? I’ll want to address why (when I figure it out) we choose procrastination over our dreams.

For now, we’re making a diet plan.

I’m an advocate that we begin this very minute, since it’s leap day and we have extra time.

Are you with me?

WRite wHere I’m supposed to be – When I eat the frog first thing in the morning, it works. For me, “works” means my minutes and hours seem longer, I feel accomplished as well as liberated. The remainder of my day, after the frog, I relax into projects that are more start-and-finish friendly.

On the side: Watch Eat That Frog! YouTube here.

Also, read What Successful People Do With the First Hour of Their Workday, and it’s not check their email.

9 responses »

    • Thanks for the book suggestion, Joel. I haven’t heard of that book before. Wonder if they have it at Barnes & Noble? I’ll have to check it out. I’m sure “it’s about time” I do! Ha.

  1. Our conversation from Facebook’s Hands-On Networking site ~

    Thursday at 3:51pm
    Jason Hawver and Anjana C. Duff like this.

    Gail G. Cashman said Great Story!
    Thursday at 4:13pm via · Like

    Kim Henson said Thanks, Gail G. Cashman. Love the book and its message.
    Thursday at 5:00pm · Like · 1

    Anjana C. Duff said Watched it and loved it. Great message…but, of course, I should have been eating a frog or two – instead, I am on FB. I have a whole plate of frogs to eat – dinner to make, laundry to fold, dishes to wash, papers to grade….which to eat first??
    Thursday at 5:09pm · Unlike · 2

    Joel Carter said Eat the worst one first and the rest will be easier
    Thursday at 5:54pm · Unlike · 3

    Kim Henson said Yep, that’s a bunch of frogs, Anjana. Lol. I’ve just got one for the evening so the only choice is do it or don’t do it. Joel, that’s great advice … the worst first! And the rest will taste better. Ha. Thanks for the comment.
    Thursday at 7:23pm · Like · 1

    Dawn Collea Stark said left comment and tweeted
    Thursday at 8:03pm · Unlike · 2

    Anjana C. Duff said You’ll be happy to know that I ate almost all of my frogs. Then I got full and thought I should save one for breakfast…I’ll grade papers tomorrow. 😉
    Thursday at 9:14pm · Unlike · 2

    Kim Henson said Thanks so much, Dawn! Grading papers wasn’t the worst? Did you follow Joel’s advice? Tell the truth because I usually do the opposite and save the worst for last … procrastinators (and misery) love company.
    Thursday at 11:22pm · Like · 1

    Anjana C. Duff said Truth be told, I really couldn’t follow Joel’s advice because the time of day dictated my frog eating. Since it was after 5, I had to make dinner first. It didn’t make sense to grade papers at that time of day. And I probably still won’t grade them till Sunday night… I’ll start the frog eating on Monday….maybe… 😉
    Thursday at 11:42pm · Unlike · 1

    Kim Henson said Good idea. I think I’ll start next week also. I just needed support.
    Yesterday at 12:42am · Like · 1

    Anjana C. Duff said When does the online support group for facebooking, lexophilic, introverted procrastinators meet?! ;))
    15 hours ago · Unlike · 2

    Joel Carter said We could have a huge group, but alas, most will procrastinate joining.
    15 hours ago via mobile · Unlike · 2

    Anjana C. Duff said Lol, Joel! So true…and even if they joined, they’d be too introverted to share. 😉
    14 hours ago · Unlike · 2

    Kim Henson said Like a friend says, “Just shaking my head.” Also laughing out loud, for real. Those last 3 comments … funny, funny ones.
    13 hours ago · Like · 2

  2. I run as early as 5 AM and then tackle a full day of work with my kids and business. I am so used to eating that Frog, even if it really tastes likes sugar when I am done!

    Glad someone else found a metaphor. I love it. Now I know what you are talking about! 🙂

    • I admire early birds (in orange glasses) like you. Once upon a time, I got up early but no more. I’m glad you figured out what this frog eating was all about. But you don’t need the advice anyway … you’re already full from eating them. I love your get-up-and-go spirit!

    • Please don’t give me any ideas about collecting anything else. Lol. I’ve tried to give that up, however frogs is one I could easily get into. I’ve got ONE in my office now and that’s all I have room for. Unless, of course, he’s really cute …

Leave a Reply

