Word of the Year

Standard
"For the past seven years, I’ve focused on one word for the year … it’s been life changing." Beth Vogt

“For the past seven years, I’ve focused on one word for the year … it’s been life changing.” Beth Vogt

Writer Edie Melson’s word for 2012 is also the title of her blog post “Clinging.”

Beth Vogt’s word for 2012 is trust. 

Beth also shared her previous six years’ words. They include gratitude, simplify, and content. When I read “content,” I thought about writing, but knew she was focusing on satisfaction. Forgiveness was her word two consecutive years. I related to her need for an advanced course in forgiving. Last year’s was hope.

In addition to Facebook friends, face-to-face friends were choosing words.

“My word this year is ‘no.’ No to stuff that doesn’t support my core values and priorities. And no to things that may be urgent, but are not necessarily important,” said my friend Peggy.

I’d managed to dismiss my word throughout January. Instead, I occupied my weeks with frenzied work and lack of sleep, followed by days of blank stares at Facebook’s newsfeed.

I finally decided “no more ignoring what needs attention.” 

Write wHere I’m supposed to be – I have a word for 2012 and I’m using it today. Any idea what mine might be?  Share yours also. I’d love to hear it.

On the side: Here’s an inspirational update on Beth’s word during the Waldo Canyon fire, near where she and her family live.

9 responses »

  1. I think your word for 2012 is “engage” – as in to participate, or to involve oneself. That’s also my word for this year. 🙂 I’m working on it, anyway….hopefully, I can sustain it.

  2. Thanks for playing, kind of like the game of favorites. When this is over, I may end up changing my word. I don’t even like mine … I was sort of assigned it by one of my kids and just knew it was supposed to be. I chose “think big” but that one didn’t fit 2012 at all. I was just hoping. Lol.

  3. Oops, forgot it’s not all about me. About your word … I really like “engage.” Do you need to take two and add “sustain”? Just trying to help since I’d rather focus on your words than mine. : ) Good luck with it!

    • Yours is an easy blog to reference. In fact, I could just run my blog off yours and my readers would be so happy. : ) I’ve already written my 2012 word article and will post it later this week. Good guesses – I figured someone would name balance.

  4. Isn’t it incremental? Trying to see how well I listened during our conversation! I like that word actually since I tend to bite off huge chunks and then beat myself up when I don’t acomplish everyting. Realized some time end of last year that maybe reason I never finished my to-do list in a day was because not that I didn’t do enough but that the list was toooooo long for any mortal to accomplish! So while I say “no” this year, I will be satisfied with incremental accomplishments as long as they move me toward my goal(s).

    • You got it, Peggy. And I’ve been the same way – long to-do lists that me plus 10 women couldn’t accomplish. But now, small bites at the table and everywhere else! We’ll stay in touch to see how “no” and “incremental” are working for us.

  5. Kim Henson said And what do you think is mine?
    February 14 at 3:48pm · Like

    Sally J. Taylor said Friendship?
    February 14 at 7:14pm · Unlike · 1

    Kim Henson said I like that one. I’ve been working on that word for a long time. Thanks for playing. I’m posting later this week.
    February 14 at 7:36pm · Like

    Nancy Launi said Your word is “fun”.
    February 14 at 8:19pm · Unlike · 1

    Kim Henson said Hey Nancy, I wish that was it. I love that word! No rule that says I can’t have two.
    February 14 at 8:59pm · Like · 1

  6. Pingback: My Word for 2012 - Incremental - S. Kim Henson

Leave a comment